Post Election thoughts….

After taking a week or so to reflect on last Friday, I’d like to share my thoughts and views of the 2015 elections, which I think it’s safe to say will be remembered for a very long time, both nationally and locally. One of the most unpredictable campaigns in living memory finished in a very appropriate manner, with not one of the ‘experts’ getting it right and predicting a Tory majority Government. Locally, of course, the big story was the Labour Party losing seats to both the Tories and Lib Dems for the first time since way back in 2008. Labour did gain one seat, Radcliffe East, from an Independent (ie. me!). Of course, they never lost the seat in an election to begin with, but to lose Elton to the Tories and Holyrood to the Liberals seemed to be a shock to all present at the count last Friday.

As far as my own result goes, whilst I was sad to see my tenure as a Councillor come to an end, I was not surprised, but I was also very proud, not only of the fact that i took part, but also of the fact that I stood by my principles in the first place when becoming Independent. I won’t go back through the whole saga of Daisy and I leaving the Labour Party again, but will just say that I have not regretted it for a day and STILL believe we took the right decision, no matter how difficult it was. In life you cannot regret what you believe to be right, and so has been proven here.

I want to publicly thank the 290 people in Radcliffe East who voted for me, and also those who helped me distribute my election materials. This campaign, more than any I have been involved in, was so positive and an absolute pleasure from start to finish, despite the result. Serving the people of the Ward was my honour, and I hope I was able to help bring positive change to people’s lives when asked to. Congratulations have to go to the newly elected ward Cllr, Catherine Preston, who will find that my determination to improve the area for us all to live in will not diminish!

So what lies ahead? It is impossible to determine where we will all be in a year’s time. With a Tory government in place, I fear for many things- the NHS and adult care, schools and education, funding to our public services generally. It is the strength of the opposition to their plans that will now be of greatest importance, and I fear with the Labour Party in a worse state than in 2010 this opposition will be weak and lack focus.

Personally, I look forward to new challenges, learning new skills and furthering my career options, and who knows what opportunities may present themselves locally. just know one thing- I’m not going away!

Matt.

This entry was posted in Council decisions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Post Election thoughts….

  1. Roy Dixon says:

    I fail to see why you all say there is a problem with funding for the NHS. This to me is poor propoganda designed to instill fear into the electorate. The Tories have put an additional 7.5 billion into the NHS and added that they will also invest a further 7,5 billion compared to only an investment of 2.5 billion notified by the Labour Party. NO I did not vote Conservative at the General Election but neither could I ever vote for a left wing Labour set up.

    Like

Leave a comment